We use cookies, just to track visits to our website, we store no personal details. Close

dunkerque to amsterdam?

1 2 >
paulhelyer 16 Jan 10:40  

Bike:

i am planning a ride from dunkerque to amsterdam later this year on road bike-. Can anyone recommend an approximate route please? Any pitfalls, problems, places to avoid?

we are planning to cover it in a day, starting at 6am and finishing hopefully before 10pm.

any advice is appreciated.

thanks,
paul

soren 16 Jan 17:54  

Bike:

My Profile

I have no experience of cycling in Europe, but plenty of experience driving in Europe,After having a quick look at google maps I would suggest you plan your route as close to the coast as possible staying mainly on the N roads, it looks at 1 point that you could get a ferry from Breskins to Vlissengen then over 1 or 2 longish Bridges before arriving in Rotterdam, I would then still stay close to the coast until I got nearer to Amsterdam then go in for the kill. I may be way off the mark but I hope I have given you some help.
Ride safe and the best of luck.

Preep 17 Jan 18:50  

Bike:

I have done most of the route following the North Sea Cycle Route (see http://www.northsea-cycle.com/default.asp?id=1&mnu=1&lang=1 for details).
Once you get to Belgium you can follow the coastal route to Sluis in the Netherlands, then follow LF1 (b direction) past Zandvoort, then take the LF20 through Haarlem and on to Amsterdam.
The route has 2 ferry crossings from Breskens to Vlissingen and from Rozenburg to Maassluis.
Useful guides are "Fietsennetwerk - De Kust (7) for Belgium and Noordzee/Waddenzee route for the netherlands.
The cycle route is interesting and relatively straight forward, but I took several days over it - is there a reason why you need to do it in a day? If so it may be quicker to stick to roads.

Peter

paulhelyer 18 Jan 16:03  

Bike:

Cheers for your suggestions.