We use cookies, just to track visits to our website, we store no personal details. Close

Brand New to this....Be gentle

bigjim 25 Jul 09:50  

Bike:

Hello Guys n Gals
Just looking for some advice for a brand new cyclist(Me)and what bike to buy/where etc.

I'm 50 years young and never been on a bike since my teens. Interested in a mountain bike over a road bike probably becauuse we have a nature park next to us and the roads are a disgrace.

There the problem begins. Hard tails , big tails, wee tails 29'rs (ok I made a couple up ha ha !)but I haven't a scooby which one to choose.
My next problem would be where to buy ?. So far looking at Evans (Braehead), Alpine (Great Western Road) and any Halfords ????.

Last but by no means least, my biggest problem. I'm 6'6
I want the bike to fit me well and don't want to be conned in to an ill fitting bike by someone just because they know I'm a novice.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated ie:
What bike ?
Will it have to be specially made or will an XXL frame be ok ?
Where to buy ? I,m in North Lanarkshire
Approx cost ?

Thanks in advance

mstar12 25 Jul 10:10  

Bike:

My Profile
Go to Asda or Argos and get the cheapest hybrid/mountain bike you can get and the biggest. Make sure you can get the seat high enough to be able to sit on and put your heal on the pedal when your leg is straight. Give your body time to adjust to the exercise. Your undercarrage will not doubt have some hammer so get some cheap bike shorts which can be worn under other gear if you want.
If the biking dosnt work out you can give the bike away at very little cost to, on the other hand if it does by the time your bike needs changing you will know what suits you best.
Mick

My Latest Route: Aug 2011 Coast 2 Coast Workington to South Shields

THE BIG MAN 26 Jul 10:09  

Bike:

My Profile