We use cookies, just to track visits to our website, we store no personal details. Close

Beginner: what pedals should I buy for my new bike?

Gav 14 Jul 12:06  

Bike:

My Profile
Hi guys,

I'm currently (and very eagerly) awaiting my new bike which I'm collecting on Friday from my local shop. As I'm new to cycling (but super keen) I spent a while looking around for the right deal and got lots of advice on what entry level bike I should go for. I'm really chuffed with my choice and can't wait to get out riding.

The bike doesn't come with road pedals and so my question to you guys is what should I go for? Is it worth buying hybrid pedals or should I just go straight for the clip-in road pedals? I'm going to get shoes when I pick up the bike and just thought I'd ask before I go.

Any help would be fantatsic,

Gav :)

sallyann 14 Jul 14:05  

Bike:

My Profile
Hi Gav
I'm newish to cycling but loving it so far, apart from the clipless pedals as I fall off nearly every time I go out! Although all the cyclists who master them love them, my husband is refusing to put my old toe clips back on as he's adament they're the way forward.

soren 15 Jul 03:50  

Bike:

My Profile

Hi Gav, get yourself a pair of SPD's, it will take you a little while to get use to them but once you have they are the best.

dudley 15 Jul 07:02  

Bike:

My Profile
that really depends on whether it is a road bike, mountain bike, and personal preference etc.

SPD certainly gives you the widest options, not just in pedals, but in shoes as well. You can get some almost respectable walking boots with SPD cleats, whereas true roadie systems tend to have shoes that provide better power transfer to the bike, but are a pain to walk anywhere in!

you'll get the hang of them quickly.

My Latest Route: Nov 2009 Forth Estuary Circular

sallyann 16 Jul 08:13  

Bike:

My Profile
Hi. Feeling totally inadequate now as I just can't get on with spd's........

Gav 16 Jul 11:12  

Bike:

My Profile