We use cookies, just to track visits to our website, we store no personal details. Close

Riding on the Pavement

stormRider 01 May 05:41  

Bike:

With all the horror stories you hear about near misses from crazy car drivers, I was wondering if it was illegal for a grown man to ride on the pavement. I must also add, since I started riding a bike, whenever I am behind a wheel, I now give a lot of consideration to cyclists, like keeping your distance and overtaking a cyclists giving plenty of room.

It is amazing how you see things from the view point of the cyclists, from experience, maybe learner drivers should be made to ride bikes as part of their driving tests!

mattk 01 May 05:50  

Bike:

My Profile
Not a bad idea - I think it would also sift out the dosey learners before letting them loose on the roads...maybe they should pass a cycle proficiency test first?

With the pavements though I'm fairly sure it's illegal to ride on pavements unless you have good reason for doing so, but on notoriously busy or dangerous roads I have been known to use the pavements where I have plenty of space to do so. If the government can't realise that dangerous roads need cycle paths then I don't see why (as long as we use our heads and have enough room to do so) we can't use pavements...

My Latest Route: Feb 2010 National Cycle Network 15 NCN

stormRider 01 May 07:09  

Bike:

Thanks for the reply, it just worries me that in my short bike riding "career" I have had 3 scrapes, young lady turning out of a side road without looking, apologising profusely saying she did not see me, a youth driving past and squirting liquid in my face, was so relieved it was not acid or something nasty! Another moroon telling me to get off the road, as I was riding up a steep hill!

I wish the Govt can take a leaf of what obtains in Holland, where riding there is so liberating.....

mattk 01 May 07:14  

Bike:

My Profile