We use cookies, just to track visits to our website, we store no personal details. Close

Encouraging Young Cyclists

anerley bicycle club 05 May 05:21  

Bike:

My Profile
I have been instructing school children (10/11 year olds) for the last 4 years. Living in the London area in a verey busy traffic area, this training is confined to the first level of Cycle Proficiency, which is playground based.
About 50% of the children cannot ride a bike properly. E.g, ride in a straight line, use the gears and brakes, etc, etc. None of them have knowledge of such basic things as keeping left, etc. This is because they have bikes but are not allowed out to use them.
At the end of training they have the basic knowledge, but I know that as their parents do not ride bikes, they will not get the opportunity to put their learning into further practise.
I have now joined up with a local cub and scout pack. Both cubs and scouts have cycling badges. To gain these, the boys are required to demonstrate a long term use of their bikes, as well as proficiency. To meet these requirements we take them out on suitable bike rides, and parents are expected to assist.
From cubs aged 8 to scouts aged 15, means that they (and their parents) have the opportunity to ride bikes over a 7 year period. Hopefully this will encourage greater use, and continued use of their bikes.
The Girl Guides/Brownies have similar cycling badges.
So this is one worthwhile way to get youngsters out on bikes.

My Latest Route: Nov 2012 Croydon to Tea Room At Knockholt, and Back.
Cycling Dude 06 May 06:38  

Bike:

My Profile