We use cookies, just to track visits to our website, we store no personal details. Close

Cycling Oxford to Abindgon/Didcot

jennie.badger 02 Feb 07:33  

Bike:

Hi there,
I am new to cycling and moving to the Oxfordshire area soon. Initially I'll be living in Abingodn, and I am hoping to try cycling from Abingdon to Oxford daily as a commute. Has anyone done this and how is it? Any hills etc?

I will be moving to Didcot later in the year and wonder if that is also a possible commute by bike - Didcot to Oxford?
Any suggestions or tips welcome! Thanks :-)

STID 02 Feb 10:02  

Bike:

My Profile
Hi, I am assuming you mean road as opposed to off road. Abingdon to Oxford is between 6 to 8 miles depending how far you travel into Oxford, is a nice commute. No hills but a slight climbs at best. If you know the back road then you can avoid traffic for at least half to two thirds of your journey. The route I take is along the Wootton Rd, right onto Sunningwell road, left onto Oxford road, down Hinksey hill onto the roundabout, then the path to avoid the roundabout traffic and your are mostly there.
If you want to do the ride with me showing you the way for the first time, PM me and we can sort something out.

My Latest Route: Aug 2009 Abingdon to Long Crendon and Long Hanborough Loop.

jennie.badger 08 Feb 08:06  

Bike:

That's great, thanks for the info! Do you ever go via Kennington road?
And roughly how long does the ride take you every day?
Thanks!

STID 08 Feb 19:43  

Bike:

My Profile
I used to but the road condition is awful, very busy, lots of parked cars either side of the road, two schools, buses and a co-op with a delivery lorry during the morning rush hour.

Nerves of steel or best avoided.

You can also go Cothill Rd, Honeybottom Lane round the back of Abingdon airfield, Fox Lane, up the hill to Foxcombe Rd then down Hinksey Hill.

Should take between 10 to 20 minutes depending on route and speed you cycle. Also depends on what part of Oxford you are going to.