We use cookies, just to track visits to our website, we store no personal details. Close

Asking for feedback about my bike lock invention

bickeylikey 19 Jun 16:44  

Bike:

Hey guys, my name's Liang I'm a college student and cyclist at USC. I've had three bikes stolen while at USC and it really pissed me off so now I'm doing something about it.

I've created a lock that specifically secures the wheels of a bike. It works by replacing the hex nuts or quick release skewers holding a bike in place. It's designed so none of the common theft tools (i.e. wrenches, vice grips, bolt cutters, flamethrowers, that laser gun from Goldeneye, etc.) can get through it or get any leverage on it.

The nut can only be tightened / loosened with the specific wrench that comes in each package. There are multiple variations of these nut:wrench combinations.

I'd love to get some feedback from you guys on the product, whether or not you'd use it, and any advice you have (from business/marketing ideas to product improvements).

Cheers,
-Liang

STID 19 Jun 20:00  

Bike:

My Profile
I am not 100% sure what you have done/invented to stop your bike being stolen.

You mention the hex nuts/quick release skewers but all they do is hold the wheels in place and stop them being stolen. How does that stop anyone stealing your bike ? Sounds like you need to lock your bike with a very good padlock/chain of which there are a lot of good ones on the market already.

I was expecting to see a picture, a link or youtube clip to explain in full and with total clarity what it is you are talking about but there was nothing of the sort.

Have you tried to raise funds to get this off the ground ?

From what you have written I will stick with my chain.

My Latest Route: Aug 2009 Abingdon to Long Crendon and Long Hanborough Loop.

herbie 20 Jun 04:36  

Bike:

My Profile
why not use some sort of crowd funding site to get the idea out there ??

if people like it they will back it

E.G