Dearne Valley - South Elmsall - Nostell - Newmillerdam Cycle Route

Cycle Route Details
Route NameDearne Valley - South Elmsall - Nostell - Newmillerdam
Cycle Route Location
Town/CityRoyston Lane, Carlton
County/RegionSouth Yorkshire
Start LocationRoyston Lane, Carlton
End LocationRoyston Lane, Carlton
Cycle Steps
1. A relatively flat route of approx 53 miles using more or less a 50/50 split between transpennine trail and roads. First 20 miles on the trail towards Doncaster, via Wombwell, Manvers, Conisbrough, Sprotbrough. Leave the trail at Scawsby following the A638 out of Doncaster before joining quieter back roads through Brodsworth, Hooton Pagnell and South Elmsall. Quite a steep climb from South Elmsall to rejoin the A638. Continue on A638 through Ackworth, Nostell before turning off through Walton, descending into Newmillerdam. A short stretch on A61 through Newmillerdam before turning off through woodland to join the old Chevet Branch Line, heading towards Ryhill and South Hiendley, before descending into Royston and a short final stretch back to Carlton on the Trail.
Landmarks/Sites to see?
The now derelict Earth Centre at Conisbrough, Conisbrough Castle, Brodsworth Hall, Nostell Priory, Waterton Park Hotel, Newmillerdam Country Park. There is a Halfords Store (Doncaster) approx 1 mile from the point where the route joins the A638 at Scawsby and I beleive an independent cycle store (Don's Cycles) in South Elmsall approx 300 yards from the point where the route turns to go over the railway bridge at South Elmsall station.