We use cookies, just to track visits to our website, we store no personal details. Close

To wear a helmet or not?

sanderson 15 Nov 17:19  

Bike:

My Profile
I'm new to cycling and at the moment I cycle off road, would you advise me to wear a helmet? if so which make is the best? (I can spend the money I have saved since packing in the ciggies or I could buy a new handbag) Thanks

woodowl 15 Nov 19:10  

Bike:

My Profile
I"m also am an offroader and i used to wear a helmet, i found them uncomfortable and dont wear them now,however i"ve decided to start wearing them again in 2012 as you just never know.(just ordered new bike,new everything)
Giro helmets are spot on as i used to own one but i also had a Bell helmet which was also spot on so each to their own.
Congratulations on packing in the cigs,i packed in 2 years ago and have never felt better

BusterG 16 Nov 05:08  

Bike:

My Profile
ditto on packing in the ciggies chaps!
For me never a question "wear a helmet!" too many anecdotes and personal contacts who didnt and should have. dont care if I am uncool.

I usually wear a met helmet but giro is usually considered the best, try on a few to get a good fit.

follow this thread on here to hear some stories.

http://www.cycle-route.com/forum/General-Chat-this-is-why-you-wear-a-helmet-Thread-3099.html

keep pedaling
Buster

My Latest Route: Oct 2013 Liss

dudley 16 Nov 07:33  

Bike:

My Profile
like terrorists only need to be successful once over many failed attempts, as goes for riding a bike.
It only takes one fall, one stray tree root, one moron in a taxi, one pot-hole, one daft pedestrian, one snapped spoke, one failed brake for your head to hit the road / tree / car ....and it's potentially game over.
Want to risk it?
We all thought compulsory seat belts were a pain 30+ years ago. I dont know about you, but it feels weird not to have it on now.

get a helmet - and wear it.

(and don't use headphones, either!)

and never ride on the pavement!