We use cookies, just to track visits to our website, we store no personal details. Close

Are you a road or mtb cyclist?

krazykayaker 21 Apr 17:06  

Bike:

My Profile
Hi, i'm a newbie on here and a newbie to cycling

Does this forum cover all aspects of cycling or is it just road bikers or just mountain bikers??

I've just got into cycling after winning a Giant Yukon MTB 2009 and decided to use it to get a bit fitter and a bit slimmer (lost 15lb's so far!!) and i'm also hoping it will help my dodgy knee

I only use the bike on the road (at the moment!) as i'm trying to improve my fitness before going off road

SO, what sort of cyclist ARE YOU and how many of you use a MTB as a road bike??

PS. i've tried a road bike and couldnt get on with so i'll be sticking with my MTB !

My Latest Route: Jan 2010 Corley Circular via Fillongley and Ash Green
happy 21 Apr 17:11  

Bike: Orange P7 with Rock Shox, Michelin Wildgripper Lites, XTR Chainset

My Profile
Hi krazykayaker,

I'm one of those awkward people who calls them self a mountainbiker, but really does most of their cycling on the road.

When I was in Scotland, you couldn't really go anywhere without finding good MTB trails, but in Merseyside there seems to be an extreme lack of anything to do on a mountainbike.

Despite this my favourite cycling is Mountain biking. Can't beat thundering down a hill uncontrollably and getting covered in mud :)

Happy

My Latest Route: Oct 2010 Livingston to Ayr Avoiding A71

mattk 22 Apr 04:25  

Bike:

My Profile
Hi, I bought a mountain bike (hardtail) and have only been to a couple of off-road trails and the rest have been mainly road routes. For me it's having the versatility of being able to go off road when I want to (or have the opportunity to) whereas a road bike wouldn't be suited to variety.

My Latest Route: Feb 2010 National Cycle Network 15 NCN

flic48 22 Apr 09:17  

Bike:

Hello,