We use cookies, just to track visits to our website, we store no personal details. Close

Anyone else have a sore a**e

mickyblue 05 Aug 17:09  

Bike:

Dunno if it's my weight or not but getting major pains in the bum and chaffing between the thighs.

Am very new to riding and hoping it will go away soon.

Any tips for combat would be great :)

Sussex_al 05 Aug 17:22  

Bike:

My Profile
hi,
the delicate bit of cycling...
chamois cream is a way forward, I started riding a couple of months ago and use 'uddercream' and it works a treat, you can buy it from your lbs or from Wiggle
I have heard some wack a load on the pad in their shorts before the ride, I prefer applying to tender bits after a shower.

My Latest Route: Jul 2010 Goodwood Hills to Charlton Loop

dudley 06 Aug 02:15  

Bike:

My Profile
wear proper shorts
use chamois cream
use the right saddle
ride regularly

your bum will get 'worn in' if you cycle regularly, and this will get rid of most of the pain (bruised feeling)
even the hardiest of cyclists get a sore a*se if they've been off the bike for a few weeks.

a common misconception is that a big comfy saddle with gel in it, or a gel cover will solve the problem.
It may alleviate the bruised sensation, but will exacerbate the chafing.

My Latest Route: Nov 2009 Forth Estuary Circular

mickyblue 15 Aug 17:50  

Bike:

thank guys, will go and look for that cream and ride more (only riding once or twice a week at the mo)

Aurum 16 Aug 09:02  

Bike:

My Profile
I'm a new rider too and increased my weekend sessions lately and for the last 2 rides found that I needed to be riding out of the saddle more often than neccessary. Although I always wear padded cycling shorts (OK in the early days), the longer session times and mileage have taken their toll on the nether regions. Just saw this posting and have straight away ordered my tub of Assos from Wiggle. Thank goodness they have a quick delivery service. Oh.... and a great post Mickeyblue.