We use cookies, just to track visits to our website, we store no personal details. Close

Cycling in Spain and France

1 2 3 > >>
Deb re-Cycles 22 Sep 11:29  

Bike:

I know this doesn't apply to the UK, but does anyone out there have any advice for my husband who will be cycling from Santander, Spain through France to Cherbourg (but taking in the French Mediterranean coast)? He will be gone a month, camping, from 1 October to 1 November and has never done anything like this before!
He's very flexible (within his time constraint) and particularly interested in any good, scenic routes and where to avoid like the plague!
Thanks,
Deb

spoonsm 22 Sep 19:23  

Bike:

This is really bizarre. I am planning a similar ride but taking a more direct route, a total of roughly 650 miles which I plan to do in 2 weeks.

I am not that experienced at such a distance although I am used to cycling in France.

In my limited experience I think the following need to be taken into consideration:

1. Cycle from South to North - the prevailing wind blows that way so you are more likely to have a tail wing rather than a head wind.

2. I would pick a warmer month - don't forget you have to carry everything so if you go in the summer you probably can get away with carrying much less.

3. I wouldn't carry a tent - there are thousands of Chambre d'hote in France and I think they are still reasonably priced. Again think of the weight - especially coming out of Spain into France across (round?) the pyranese (that's not how you spell it but too tired to look it up!)

4. Stick to the minor roads - cycling in France can be almost traffic free and fabulous.

I hope he enjoys it - I am probably doing it next June so would love to hear how he gets on

Mark

psloper 19 Nov 10:28  

Bike: